We’re using our figurative time machine to head back into Ouray’s past and shed some light on its rich history, in this case, the Wright Opera House. The structure remains in Ouray to this very day and can be found by visiting popular Main Street.
The Wright Opera House’s history stretches all the way back to 1881. The Wright siblings shelled out money to purchase several lots close to Main Street. Upon erecting the Wright Brothers Building, the brothers centered their attention on improving Ouray’s cultural attractions, with a goal of changing the city’s somewhat sleazy image into one that children and adults could appreciate, enjoy, and potentially learn something. With that in mind, plans for the Wright Opera House were set in motion.
On December 4, 1888, Wright Opera House opened its doors for the first time. As late as the 1890s, it maintained a then highly impressive architectural allure alongside the Ouray County Court House and the Beaumont Hotel. Despite its grandeur, the Wright Opera House remained semi-dormant for years until the mining boom started to dwindle, significantly improving attendance.
Today, Wright Opera House is frequently visited by tourists and it has the distinction of being on the United States National Register of Historic Places.
This update is provided by Twins Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs. Our Ouray lodging, full-service hotel has seven different room types including rooms for couples or families with children. Our amenities include Ouray Colorado hot springs, a free breakfast, spectacular vistas of the mountains, and much more. For additional information about us or Ouray, please call 800.207.2700 or visit us at 125 3rd Avenue Ouray, Colorado 81427.