800-207-2700

The Rich History of Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs

You’ve heard it before – Ouray, CO is the Switzerland of America. Located on the corner of 3rd Ave. and 2nd St, Ouray Colorado lodging, Twin peaks Lodge and Hot Springs, is no stranger to the breathtaking views and friendly faces of this hidden gem in the Rockies. Since 1893, Twin Peaks Lodge and Hot Springs has been a part of all the fun southwest colorado has to offer.

 

Alfred Armstong built the two-story residence known today as our foundation in 1893, and in 1901, purchased four lots that ended up landing him fortune within the mines. Along with Frank Sanders and George R. Hurlburt, the three discovered the Bachelor Mine, named because the three men were all bachelors.

 

In 1923, Alfred passed away, leaving the property to his son George. When George passed away in 1954, his wife Vivian took ownership. In 1960, Eugene and Velma Tankersley bought the property from Vivian. The then Twin Peaks Motel became a Best Western in 1968 and won many awards from the American Automobile Association (AAA). In 1969, True Grit was filmed in Ouray, and John Wayne stayed in the Ouray Colorado lodging location during filming!

 

Throughout the latter half of the 20th century, the hotel underwent a series of changes, including the addition of a swimming pool and etched glass representation of Twin Peaks, additional units bring the hotel’s total to 55 units, and another a-frame building that included a hot springs jacuzzi attached to the south end of the original two-story house. In 2005, the hotel was sold to Alpenglow Properties, and in 2010, it was upgraded to Best Western Plus Twin Peaks Lodge and Hot Springs.

 

Enjoy the rich history of Ouray in our cozy lodging. Take a dip in the hot springs, dine out at the Mineshaft restaurant, or zen out in the Sage Spa. Make a reservation online now to experience the best that Ouray has to offer!


NYE Champagne, Charcuterie and Hot Springs